Customising your feedback board

Controlling who can post and vote using permissions

Introduction

You can control how customers and your team use your board in a number of ways. This is to support certain use cases:

  • You want customers or team members to vote on specific ideas rather than add their own
  • You want to show customers and B2B clients what you are working on but don’t want them to contribute to the board directly
  • You only want moderators to add comments to feedback rather than everyone
  • You want to hide the vote counts so that they don’t influence others

What you can control using permissions

Feature Upvote allows you to control three actions:

  • Who can add suggestions
  • Who can add comments to suggestions
  • Who can vote
  • Who can see the vote counts

In each case, you can give permission to

  • Everyone (the default)
  • Moderators only
  • No-one

How you can make changes

Go to your Feature Upvote dashboard.

Select ‘Settings’ from your dashboard.

Board settings

Select ‘Access & Permissions’

Screenshot of Feature Upvote's Access and Permissions screen

In the panel labelled ‘Permissions’ configure Feature Upvote to suit your requirements.

Screenshot of changing Feature Upvote's permissions

Select ‘Save’.

  • Turning off access to add suggestions keeps existing suggestions visible.
  • Turning off access to add comments hides existing comments.
  • Turning off access to upvote keeps existing vote counts visible.

Need more help with this?

Contact us here